Downtime of chatGPT and other chatbots: details and analysis | A Compact Guide to Large Language Models pdf Download | Llm Meaning in ai | A Compact Guide to Large Language Models pdf 2021 | Turtles AI

Downtime of chatGPT and other chatbots: details and analysis
Severe disruption of AI services: ChatGPT, Claude and Perplexity offline simultaneously. Analysis and technical details on an unprecedented event in the world of artificial intelligence.
DukeRem

Major AI service outage: ChatGPT, Claude, and Perplexity offline simultaneously. Detailed technical analysis of an unprecedented event in the AI world.

Tuesday morning (as we reported here) brought an extraordinary event in the field of artificial intelligence: three major conversational chatbots – OpenAI’s ChatGPT, Anthropic’s Claude, and Perplexity – experienced simultaneous blackouts, causing dismay among millions of global users. The interruption of ChatGPT was the most significant, lasting several hours and manifesting in two successive waves before being definitively resolved. Claude and Perplexity, on the other hand, faced less prolonged technical issues, with disruptions resolved more quickly than ChatGPT.

The first signs of malfunction were detected around 2:30 AM ET / 7:30 BST / 4:30 PM AEST on June 4. OpenAI quickly acknowledged the severity of the problem, indicating that the service was unavailable on its status page. An initial fix was implemented at 7:30 AM ET / 12:30 PM BST / 4:30 PM AEST, with the service seemingly returning to normal. However, this solution proved temporary, and many users reported new issues on social media. The situation was definitively resolved at 5:01 PM BST, according to OpenAI’s status page.

The exact cause of ChatGPT’s most severe outage of 2024 has not yet been made public. The company acknowledged the outage but provided no specific details about the reasons. Anthropic and Perplexity also have not released official comments on the issues encountered. One hypothesis under investigation is a broader infrastructural network problem that simultaneously affected multiple AI providers, similar to past events that have simultaneously impacted various social networks. Another hypothesis suggests that Claude and Perplexity’s issues may have been caused by traffic overload resulting from ChatGPT’s blackout.

Below is a summary table of the technical details of the event:

Chatbot First Outage Temporary Restoration Second Outage Final Resolution
ChatGPT 2:30 AM ET / 7:30 BST 7:30 AM ET / 12:30 BST After a few minutes 5:01 PM BST
Claude Morning of June 4 6:10 PM BST Sporadic interruptions Evening of June 4
Perplexity Morning of June 4 6:10 PM BST Sporadic interruptions Evening of June 4

 

Regarding Google Gemini, reports of problems were minimal, with some users reporting connectivity issues. Investigations are still underway to determine if there was a common cause for these outages. The event sparked concerned reactions on social media, with many users wondering whether these were merely technical glitches or symptoms of more serious problems.

This situation highlights the growing importance of artificial intelligence and the need to ensure the stability and reliability of these services. The simultaneity of the blackouts also underscores the potential vulnerability of the infrastructure on which these advanced AI systems rely.

Highlights

  • Simultaneous blackout of ChatGPT, Claude, and Perplexity.
  • ChatGPT experienced the most prolonged outages.
  • Ongoing investigations to determine the precise causes of the disruptions.
  • Concerned reactions from users on social media.